Evelyn takes 300th Category Win

Evelyn takes 300th Category Win

Evelyn takes 300th Category Win

The third Welcome Tavern 5k attracted 86 runners, 24 were Red Rose Runners. With a downhill first mile a quick start was inevitable. Ethan Hodgkinson ran a fast first mile and hung on for good time of 20.45. He was chased down by Joe Swarbrick and Steve Whitney who ran well paced times of 18.53 and 19.26. Frank Nightingale improved his PB to finish in 20.25. Andrew Stell  ran his best  time of the series in 20.46. Richard Maughan ran his third race of the series but didn’t appear on the results. Janine Needham was first Red Rose woman home in 21.24. Paula Plowman was second in 22.44 and Carol Hughes, third in 24.01. Neil Marshall was first V60 in 24.30. Claire Shaw continued her improvement with her best time of 26.13. Weather conditions were good but few people were able to improve their times.

Results: Phil Dean 22.28, Dave Maudsley 22.45, John Wiseman 23.04, Andy Speer 24.38, Yvonne Johnson 25.09, Roger Johnson 27.19, Colin Manning 27.31, Helen Orson 28.39, Beverley Hewitson 28.54,Sally Cape 29.38, Aimee Midgley 30.37, Ann Donoghue 31.29, Martin Simpson 31.29.

At the Blues & Twos 10k, Steve Whitney had a great race finishing 7th in a time of 39.18. He was followed in 8th place by Dave Brunton in a time of 39.51. Jill Jefferson ran an impressive 44.58 for 6th  place lady and first F55. Catherine Ramsden produced a good time of 47.25, just ahead of John Wiseman in 47.29. Sarah Maltby finished in 48.59 with Debbie Porter (50.13) and Jenny Fairclough (53.45) completing the RR team.

Parkrun  PB’s this week were achieved by Andy Binstead (23.00) and Vicky Gore (29.28) at Cuerden Valley and by Anthony Murphy (19.44), Steve Murphy (22.30) and David Dyson (23.41) at Preston.

The sun shone for the 7th SOTOS 10k where 250 runners ran for the Emily May Fund. As usual the organisation and marshalling were excellent and a high quality field once again assembled.

 The wonderful Evelyn Elkington won the F75 prize to mark her 300th age category prize. Claire Bunce continued her return to take an individual prize as well as being part of the Ladies team of Jill Jefferson, Margaret Lodge and Paula Plowman, who took 2nd place. Paula also recorded a PB.

 Duncan Anderson won the M35 prize with more success coming from Joe Donoghue as first Junior and George Fletcher being first V70.